Dr. Burns continues to pursue academic and professional excellence through research and collaboration.

Faithful Healer Award, nominated, SSM DePaul Hospital

Zimmer/ Ruth Jackson Research Grant

Angel Award, SSM DePaul Foundation

Top Docs in Patient Satisfaction, Press Ganey

Paul Simon Award, Signature Foundation

Physician Value Award for Compassion

Studer Award for Entrepreneurial Leadership, Civic Entrepreneurs Organization

Shoulder Surgery Traveling Fellowship, Ruth Jackson Orthopedic Society

Nominated, Alpha Omega Alpha Medical Honor Society

Phi Beta Kappa

Alpha Epsilon Delta, Premedical Honor Society

Chancellor’s scholar, 8 of 8 undergraduate semesters

Stalnacker Scholarship for academic achievement

Outstanding student research in psychology

Ossip Award for excellence in undergraduate writing

Beta Beta Beta, Biological Honor Society

Phi Eta Sigma, Freshman Honor Society, President

Golden Key National Honor Society, President